Car accidents are an unfortunately frequent occurrence. Drivers involved in car accidents are often legally required to make certain reports about the crash to the proper authorities.
Typically, drivers must report the accident to law enforcement as quickly as possible, although there is no specific statutory time limit. It is best to contact law enforcement immediately if possible. A written report might be required to the Department of Safety within 20 days of the crash. How long you have to report a crash to an insurance company will depend on the terms and conditions of your insurance policy. In most cases, it is best to reach out to your insurance as soon as possible. If you want to take your accident to court, you have only 1 year to file your case. Failing to report a crash to the police or your insurance might lead to serious consequences.
If you were recently injured in a crash on the road, our Tennessee car accident attorneys can help you make the necessary reports and pursue legal action for damages. To schedule a free case review, call Howe Law at (844) 876-4357.
When to Report a Car Accident and Injuries to the Police in Tennessee
After an accident, you might be required by law to report the accident to the authorities. Not all accidents are considered reportable accidents, but those that are must be reported, or drivers might face penalties. If you were involved in a crash, our Tennessee car accident lawyers can help you report your accident to the police and help you get compensation for your injuries.
According to Tennessee Code § 55-10-106(a), drivers involved in certain kinds of car accidents are required to report the crash to the police by the quickest means possible. While no specific time frame is given by law, drivers should strive to report the crash immediately if they can. Additionally, the accident is considered legally reportable if it involves death or injury to any drivers or passengers, or property damage of at least $50. If you are unsure if your accident needs to be reported, it is a good idea just to report it anyway.
There are additional reporting requirements under Tennessee Code § 55-10-107(a). Under this law, drivers in accidents must make a written report to the Department of Safety within 20 days. You only need to make this report if your accident involves death or bodily injuries, or if there is property damage of at least $1,500.
How Long You Have to Report a Car Accident to an Insurance Company in Tennessee
How much time you have to report your accident to an insurance company depends on the insurance company involved in your case. Tennessee is a fault-based state when it comes to filing insurance claims for car accidents. Under this system, injured drivers must file third-party claims with the other driver’s insurance company and prove the other was at fault before any payments are issued.
How long you have to report your accident to an insurance company will depend on the rules and policies of that insurance company. While different companies might have different deadlines, you should plan to report the accident as soon as you can. Waiting for more than a few days might cause problems when you try to get compensation from the insurance company.
You should also report the accident to your own insurance company even if you do not anticipate it covering your accident. Perhaps the other driver’s insurance has lapsed, or they never had any insurance. In such a case, you might have to fall back on your uninsured motorist insurance policy, so keeping your insurance provider in the loop from day one is best.
You should consult our Tennessee personal injury lawyers before speaking to an insurance company. If you had to wait a little while before reporting the accident to the insurance company, you might have difficulty getting coverage. Our team can help you explain your delay and prove the other driver caused the crash.
How Much Time You Have to File a Lawsuit After a Tennessee Car Accident
Once injured drivers have reported their accidents to the police, their next step is usually to file an insurance claim, as discussed above. Unfortunately, insurance claims do not always work out the way we want them to. Since Tennessee is a fault-based state, you must prove to the insurance company that the other driver is to blame for the crash. If the insurance company does not believe you and denies your claim, you can file a personal injury in court. However, this also comes with certain deadlines.
When filing a personal injury lawsuit for a car accident, you must abide by the statute of limitations. According to Tennessee Code § 28-3-104(a)(1)(A), you have 1 year from the date of the accident to file your claims in court. If you fail to file your claim in court by this deadline, you might lose your right to sue.
Our Valdosta car accident attorneys can help you file your lawsuit quickly. In many cases, we can file a lawsuit to put pressure on the insurance company. When they know you mean business, they might be more likely to move your claims forward and issue a fair settlement. If they do not, we can still pursue the lawsuit in court.
Consequences of Failing to Report a Car Accident in Tennessee
Failure to follow reporting requirements after a car accident might have serious consequences. Leaving the scene of an accident without reporting it to the police might be considered a hit and run offense under Tennessee Code § 55-10-102(a). In addition, waiting too long to contact an insurance company might make the insurance company wary of your claims and more likely to deny your compensation. It is best to report the accident immediately and call our Knoxville car accident lawyers for help with your subsequent legal actions.
Call Our Tennessee Car Accident Lawyers for Assistance
After an accident, you should call for emergency help and make sure that law enforcement is notified of the crash. Our Murfreesboro car accident lawyers can help you make any necessary reports and begin working on your compensation claims. For a free case assessment, call the Tennessee car accident lawyers at Howe Law at (844) 876-4357.