After sustaining injuries in a car accident in Knox County, TN, victims often need access to compensatory damages. One way to strengthen your claim against a negligent driver is to get a copy of the police report for your accident. But how can you do that?
Car accident victims in Knox County, TN have several options when requesting a copy of a police report. Victims can go online to the state-wide crash report portal or visit the responding police department. If your accident happened on a highway, you might need to contact the Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP) for a copy of your crash report. Generally, victims or their attorneys need to provide certain identifying information to get car accident reports. These reports can take time to complete, so victims should expect to wait several days before their reports become available.
We’re dedicated to helping injured victims get the justice they deserve against negligent drivers. For a free case evaluation with the Knoxville car accident attorneys at Howe Law, call today at (844) 876-4357.
How Can I Get a Police Report After a Car Accident in Knox County, TN?
If you were recently injured in a car accident in Knox County, TN, there are a few ways you can get a copy of your police report. Currently, injured victims can go online to download a digital copy of their police report or visit the responding officers’ police department in person. Victims can also send a mailed request to the Tennessee Department of Homeland Security Financial Responsibility Division.
The first and often easiest way to get a copy of your police report after a collision is by going online. The Tennessee Department of Homeland Security has an online portal to which local law enforcement officials in Knox County upload completed crash reports. These reports cost $10 each.
Generally, car accident victims in Knox County, TN can visit the Knoxville Police Department’s Records Unit to get a copy of a crash report. This service is available to victims, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 8:00 and 4:00. Printed copies of reports cost 15 cents per page.
Injured victims or their Nashville car accident attorneys can also send mail requests to the Tennessee Department of Homeland Security Financial Responsibility Division. These reports cost $4 and are payable by a cashier’s check, money order, personal check, or business check. Victims requesting copies of reports by mail must complete a form attesting to their involvement in a crash. crash.
What if My Accident Happened on a Highway in Knox County, TN?
Knox County, TN is a bustling, popular area, containing booming cities like Knoxville. Because of this, there are many highways in Knox County that are monitored by the Tennessee Highway Patrol. If your Knox County, TN car accident happened on a highway, you might have to contact the THP.
Victims or their attorneys can contact the THP to get a copy of a crash report for an accident that occurred on a highway in Knox County, TN. You can send a mailed request or visit the Tennessee Highway Patrol district office that is closest to your accident site. Generally, copies of these reports cost $4. If you’re having difficulty contacting the THP to get a copy of your crash report, your Knoxville personal injury attorney can help you.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Car Accident Report in Knox County, TN?
In order to get a copy of their car accident report in Knox County, TN victims need to provide certain details. It’s important that you’re prepared for what identifying information you may need to provide so that you can successfully recover a copy of your police report.
Generally, victims requesting police reports in Knox County, TN need to provide basic information. So, have your driver’s license information on hand as well as details about the crash itself. Know the accident date and location. Keep note of other involved parties’ names. Be sure to remember the responding agency, too. And finally, you’ll likely need the case number to obtain your police report in Knox County, TN.
While some of this information is already known to you, other pieces may be more challenging to remember. If, during the chaos of a damaging car accident, you could not note a negligent driver’s name, or are now unable to locate the case number given to you by law enforcement, don’t worry. Your Nashville personal injury accident lawyer can help you recover the necessary information to request a copy of your police report successfully.
How Long Does it Take for Knox County, TN Law Enforcement Officials to Complete Crash Reports?
Police reports for car accidents in Knox County, TN aren’t ready for retrieval overnight. It takes time for law enforcement officials to complete these detailed reports. However, because you likely need fast access to compensatory damages, it’s important to know how soon you can expect to get your report after a crash.
Generally, it takes several days for police reports to be made available after a car accident in Knox County, TN. The THP estimates a seven-day wait time for victims of accidents on highways. Local law enforcement officials may only take several days to complete a report. If you request a mailed copy, it can take several weeks to reach you.
So, victims should be patient and understand that completing police reports is an involved process. However, if it appears that it’s taking far too long for your report to be made available, reach out to your Tennessee car accident attorney. Your lawyer can call the necessary agencies to inquire about the delay.
Call Our Attorneys After Your Knox County, TN Car Accident
If you’ve recently been injured in a car accident in Knox County, TN, our Tennessee car accident lawyers are here to help. For a free case evaluation with the Knox County, TN car accident attorneys at Howe Law, call today at (844) 876-4357.